The Spinoza Chair

The Spinoza Chair was established in 1995 by the then Faculty of Humanities of the University of Amsterdam. In anticipation of the arrival of the first occupant of the Chair, three prominent philosophers gave six Spinoza Lectures: Manfred Frank (Eberhard-Karls Universität, Tübingen), Daniel C. Dennett (Tufts University) and Will Kymlicka (University of Ottawa). In the following years the occupation of the Chair has been as follows:

1996 - Albrecht Wellmer      
1997 - Richard Rorty              
1998 - Stanley Cavell              
1999 - Axel Honneth            
2000 - Seyla Benhabib          
2001 - Hilary Putnam              
2002 - Judith Butler                
2003 - Hubert Dreyfus            
2004 - Nancy Fraser                
2005 - Bruno Latour                
2006 - John Dupré                  
2007 - Herman De Dijn, Jonathan Israel, Steven Nadler *               
2008 - Asma Barlas                
2009 - Robert B. Pippin
2010 - Moira Gatens  
2011 - Cristina Lafont      
2012 - Michael Friedmann
2013 - Onora O'Neill 

* In 2007 it was the 375th anniversary of the birth of Spinoza. Three Spinoza scholars gave a special lecture to celebrate this event. The Spinoza Lectures are given by high-profile thinkers of our time. They are intended for a wide audience that would like to keep abreast of current developments in philosophy. Publishing house Van Gorcum will publish the texts of the Spinoza Lectures.

Published by  Faculty of Humanities

17 December 2013