News & Events

Middle East and International Relations

Below a snapshot of some of our researchers with expertise on the Middle East and in the field of international relations.

For specific questions or to get in touch with a researcher not listed on this page, please call the UvA Press Office on +31 (0)20 525 2695 or send an email to press@uva.nl.

Paul Aarts - AISSR

Credits: UvA

Paul Aarts

Paul Aarts carries out research on the Middle East, Islam and the Arab Spring.

E: P.W.H.Aarts@uva.nl

Kiki Brölman

Credits: Dirk Gillissen

Dr Catherine Brölmann

Catherine Brölmann carries out research into general public international law, law of international organisation(s), international rule of law, rule-making processes, interaction between national and international legal order, theory of international law, law of treaties, collective human rights, international law and governance of natural resources.

T: +31 (0)20 525 2705/2632
E: C.M.Brolmann@uva.nl

B.M. Burgoon

Credits: Jeroen Oerlemans

Prof. Brian Burgoon

Brian Burgoon is professor of International and Comparative Political Economy. His areas of expertise are economic globalisation, immigration and international conflicts.

T: +31 (0)20 525 3189/2262
E: B.M.Burgoon@uva.nl

prof. E. (Ellen) Rutten

Credits: Ellen Rutten

Prof. Ellen Rutten

Ellen Rutten is professor of Literature, with a focus on Slavonic literature and culture. Her research focuses on literature, image and social media in and regarding Eastern Europe.

T: +31 (0)20 525 5518
E: E.Rutten1@uva.nl

Robbert Woltering / FGw

Credits: Bob Bronshoff

Dr Robbert Woltering

Robbert Woltering conducts research on the image the West and Europe have in today’s Arabic-speaking world, the public debate held in the Arab states, political movements in the Middle East and political Islam. His regional specialism is Egypt.

T: +31 (0)20 525 4685
E: R.A.F.L.Woltering@uva.nl

  • dr. R.A.F.L. (Robbert) Woltering

    R.A.F.L.Woltering@uva.nl | T: 0205254685

    Go to detailpage

Published by  UvA Persvoorlichting

3 July 2017