For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

KNAW Academy Professor Prize

The Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) annually awards the Academy Professor Prize to two excellent researchers who have made a unique contribution to the development of their disciplines. The prize is intended to be a lifetime achievement award and is each worth €1 million euros.

One prize is awarded to a researcher in the social sciences or humanities, and the other to a researcher in the natural, technical or life sciences. The money must be used for academic purposes. The Dutch Ministry of Economic Affairs, Agriculture and Innovation contributes to the prize money.



  • Prof.  J. Th. Leerssen (Faculty of Humanities)
  • Prof. M.B.M. van der Klis (Faculty of Science)


  • Prof. H.R. Büller – Amsterdam Medical Centre (UvA-AMC)


  • Prof. J.M. ten Cate (Faculty of Dentistry)


  • Prof. M.W. Sabelis (Faculty of Science)
  • Prof. P.M.G. Emmelkamp (Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences)


  • Prof. M.G. Bal (Faculty of Humanities

More information about the Academy Professor Prize