Teaching and research at the University of Amsterdam are conducted at seven faculties: the Humanities, Social and Behavioural Sciences, Economics and Business, Law, Science, Medicine and Dentistry. Each faculty is headed by a dean. The teaching and research activities are divided among various institutes within the faculties. Each faculty also has a central services department which is responsible for operational management.