For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

The University of Amsterdam (UvA)'s research and teaching takes place in 4 campuses. After the Amsterdam Science Park, the Roeterseiland Campus and the Academic Medical Center, over the next few years the focus will be on developing the city centre campus under the new name of ‘University Quarter’.

Campus with ties to the city

The name 'University Quarter' better expresses the ties between the university and the city and more closely matches the expectations and wishes of the entrepreneurs and residents with whom the UvA shares the area. Until recently, the University Quarter was known by its working title of 'City Centre Campus'.

Future of the University Quarter

In due course, the University Quarter will be home to the University Library, the Faculty of Humanities, the Executive Board, the Executive Staff and central reception rooms. The first few years, the University Library will take shape and the Oudemanhuispoort building will be used as temporary student accommodation. Work on the campus is scheduled to be completed by 2025.