

**Executive Board** 

Spui 21 1012 WX Amsterdam Postbus 19268 1000 GG Amsterdam www.uva.nl

Position statement Executive Board regarding the research evaluation of Political Science (2013-2019)

Date 18 May 2021 Our reference 2021cu0358

L.S.,

The Executive Board of the University of Amsterdam (UvA) received the final report of the research review 2013-2019 of Political Science, Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research (AISSR). An international peer review committee carried out the evaluation in 2020, using the Strategy Evaluation Protocol 2015-2021. The Executive Board wishes to express its gratitude to the peer review committee, chaired by Prof. Jacques Thomassen PhD, for carrying out the evaluation.

The Executive Board is pleased to see that the review committee concludes that the research quality of Political Science is of a very high standard, both in qualitative and in quantitative terms. It is noteworthy that the department is considered as one of the leading political science departments in Europe, if not the world.

In terms of viability, the committee acknowledges the research programme *Transnational Governance, Political Economy and Democracy* at Political Science, to have a high degree of viability. The programme expresses a strong commitment to societal relevance and impact: all researchers are strongly encouraged to engage in societal relevance activities. The working culture is described as collegial and egalitarian. The Committee is pleased with both the processes in place for ensuring research integrity, and with the genuine commitment to improve diversity. The Committee concluded to be positive about the PhD programme and community.

The Executive Board supports the faculty in using the recommendations of the evaluation report to further strengthen the performance, including a better work-life-balance, the help of PhD candidates and junior staff members from abroad to understand the ins and outs of Dutch academia, and diversity at the level of full professor.

Yours sincerely, the Executive Board,

Prof. Geert T.M. ten Dam, President