For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Education Award 2020 Faculty of Humanities

The College of Humanities and the Graduate School of Humanities will be hosting the Education Award 2020. The purpose of the Education Award is to put teaching taking place at the Faculty of Humanities in the limelight, draw attention to special achievements in education and reward these achievements.

Important dates Education Award 2020

2 June deadline for proposing courses for nomination
In the week of 15 June publication of six nominated courses and voting for the Audience Award opens
7 July, 16:00, via Zoom Education Award 2020 ceremony

You can nominate your favourite cours(es) now. Courses that respond to the current situation in a special way are of course also eligible for nomination.

How to nominate

Since last year, all employees and students of the Faculty can propose (a) course(s) for nomination for the Education Award 2020.

Nominate a course

Members of the jury and audience award

The jury for the Education Award 20 consists of:
Thomas Vaessens, director College of Humanities (chair)
Toni Pape, winner Education Award 2019 bachelor’s course
Justyna Wubs - Mrozewicz, winner Education Award 2019 master's course
Rijk van Beek, Bachelor's student
Tjibbe Valkenburg, Master's student

Six nominees will be chosen from all submissions (three Bachelor’s courses and three Master’s courses). These six nominees will make a short video in which they promote their course. These films are then published on the website of the Education Award. Finally, the jury will choose the winners of the Education Award from the six nominees.

Like last year, there is also an audience award. Everyone can vote for the six nominees via the website. The video/course with the most votes will win the audience award.

How does the jury determine the winners of the Education Award?

The jury nominates three Bachelor’s courses and three Master’s courses from all nominations. During the award ceremony on 9 June, the teachers of the six nominated courses will present their subject to the public and the jury. Subsequently, after a short deliberation, the jury will announce the two winning courses. The jury explains its choice in a report. The winners will receive a cheque worth €1000 from the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Prof. Fred Weerman.

Onderwijsprijs Geesteswetenschappen