For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Bekijk de site in het Nederlands

The 2013 UvA Thesis Prize was awarded to Information Law graduate Vicky Breemen. She received the first prize for her research master’s thesis on the copyright aspects of library digitisation.

Jury chairman Frank van Vree, dean of the UvA’s Faculty of Humanities, announced the winners of the 2013 UvA Thesis Prize during the closing ceremony of the annual University Day, held on 1 June. Twelve theses were nominated, out of a total of 74 entries. First-prize winner Vicky Breemen graduated cum laude in Information Law and previously received the 2012 NCBV Victorine van Schaickprijs for her research. She has since taken up a position as a PhD researcher at the UvA’s Institute for Information Law.

Second and third prize

Second prize went to physicist Martí Perarnau Llobet for his research in the field of quantum mechanics. He previously received the Lorentz Thesis Prize from the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities, and currently works as a PhD researcher at the Institute of Photonic  Sciences in Barcelona. The third prize went to musicologist Laura Lauta van Aysma for her research on communication between whales, with a focus on the ‘humpback whale’s song’.

The winners received a cash prize and a membership in the Amsterdam University Association.