For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Bekijk de site in het Nederlands

On Wednesday, 27 January, the League of European Research Universities (LERU) presented the approximately 10,000 signatures to the LERU Statement on Open Access to Carlos Moedas, EU commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, and Sander Dekker, state secretary for Education, Culture and Science.

Open Access

The statement 'Moving Forwards on Open Access’ calls on policy makers to work with all stakeholders to make Open Access publishing a reality. Open Access publishing makes scientific results accessible to parties outside academia. Open Access publications are also easier to find, are cited more often and have a wider scientific reach, as they are also available to researchers in developing countries and at universities that cannot afford the prohibitive licensing fees charged by scientific publishers. At the moment, the traditional system of paid subscriptions is preventing many from accessing scientific results.

The UvA is a supporter of Open Access publishing and included it as a key objective in its Strategic Plan for 2015-2020.

About LERU

The League of European Research Universities (LERU) is a network of 22 research-intensive European universities that promotest the importance of fundamental research in Europe and stimulates collaboration. The UvA has been a member of LERU since 2006. In addition to the UvA, the universities of Utrecht and Leiden are also LERU members.