For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Bekijk de site in het Nederlands

The Amsterdam Centre for Contemporary European Studies (ACCESS EUROPE), a joint initiative of the University of Amsterdam (UvA) and VU University Amsterdam (VU), has been designated a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence by the European Commission. Awarded for a period of three years, this status is conferred on prominent academic centres for research and education on Europe and European integration processes.

The designation provides ACCESS EUROPE with additional financial resources to share knowledge acquired through research with students, practitioners and other interested parties. As a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence, ACCESS EUROPE will be offering an extended programme of education and knowledge activities, including five summer schools, an annual conference on a key European issue and a range of public sessions.

ACCESS EUROPE was launched in 2014 under the direction of Jonathan Zeitlin and Ben Crum, professors of Political Science at the UvA and VU, respectively. A multidisciplinary platform for research, education and public debate on Europe and the European Union, ACCESS EUROPE brings together the expertise of both these universities.

Jean Monnet Programme

The Jean Monnet Programme promotes teaching, research and reflection in the field of European integration studies at higher education institutions in and outside the European Union. There are currently 165 Jean Monnet Centres spanning the globe from China to New Zealand to the United States. The Netherlands has four: in Groningen, Maastricht, Leiden and – now – Amsterdam.