For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

A Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellowship has been awarded to thirteen researchers for research projects at the University of Amsterdam (UvA). The projects will focus, among other things, on sexual communication between moths and emotion regulation in youths.

EuropeanUnion-Flickr-CreativeCommons-© European Union 2013 - European Parliament.

The Fellowship, which amounts to approximately €180, 000 for each researcher, is meant to stimulate the cross-border mobility of researchers both within and outside the European Union.

A short summary of some of the projects: 

TRANSIT: The Daily Governance of Transit Migration in Turkey at European Union Borders: The Two-way Influence of Turkish-European Union Border and Migration Management Practices 

Beste Isleyen (Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research, AISSR) will explore the border management of ‘transit’ migration by Turkish political and security professionals at European Union borders. Her research will focus on everyday forms of ‘risk’ governance and will throw light on the two-way influence of EU and Turkish risk ‘perceptions’ and ‘risk’ technologies, as well as on how such interaction gives way to new intentions, struggles and mobilities. 

ECBStrainShiftZMap: Identification and Characterisation of the Male Pheromone Response Gene(s) in the European Corn Borer 

Fotini Koutroumpa (Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystems Dynamics, IBED) investigates the nocturnal Lepidoptera (moths). The females of this important group of crop pests attract males with a species-specific blend of sex pheromones. Koutroumpa will aim to identify and characterise the genetic changes that underlie the males’ response to these pheromones. 

SYMULGAS: Synthetic Magnetism with Ultracold Fermi Gases of Strontium 

In his research, Georgios Siviloglou (Institute of Physics) will focus on synthetic magnetism with ultracold Fermi gases of strontium. Atomic gasses cooled to temperatures close to absolute zero (-273°C) reveal their quantum nature. By optically trapping and controlling ultracold atoms, Siviloglou and his team will examine and realise exotic phenomena related to quantum magnetism. 

PEACEFUL MIND: Effectiveness Evaluation of Traditional and Third Wave Emotion Regulation Strategies in Clinical and Non-Clinical Youth Population 

Maja Wrzesien (who will join the Research Institute of Child Development and Education) conducts research in the area of emotion regulation and mindfulness. Numerous mental health problems in adolenscents such as substance abuse, anxiety disorders and depression are related to poor capacity in Emotion Regulation (ER). Wrzesien will develop a series of experiments which will provide a more personalised programme for parents and schools to teach adaptive ER strategies to adolescents.


The other recipients are:

  • Tamara Dobler (Institute for Logic, Language and Computation) – RContext: Radical Contextualism and the Science of Meaning
  • Russell Foster (Amsterdam School for Regional, Transnational and European Studies) – EVI: 'Feeling European'. The Visual Construction of EU Identity
  • Marc Galland (Swammerdam Institute for Life Sciences, SILS) – DURETO: Rearm Cultivated Tomato with Natural and Durable Resistance Mechanisms from Wild Tomato Species
  • Imke Harbers (AISSR) – STATE CAPACITY: Neither Dwarf nor Leviathan: Explaining Territorial and Functional Variation in State Capacity
  • Frank Jacobs (SILS) – Evolutionary Neurogenomics: The Impact of Recent Retrotransposon Invasions on the Evolution of Human Neural Gene Expression
  • Maël Lebreton (Amsterdam Business School) – PREF LEARNHEUR: Learning Heuristics in Preference Elicitation Tasks: Insights from Behavioural, Computational and Neurobiological Investigations
  • Selma de Mink (Anton Pannekoek Institute for Astronomy) – BinCosmos: The Impact of Massive Binaries throughout Cosmic Ages
  • Konstantinos Tsetsos (Psychology Research Institute) – CODIR: Cortical Dynamics of Decision Irrationality
  • Nicky Wybouw (IBED) – DOGMITE: The Unique Dioxygenases of Phytophagous Spider Mites: New Enzyme Players in Plant-Herbivore Interactions

A Marie Curie Fellowship has also been awarded to Manolis Pratsinakis (AISSR), who will conduct research at the University of Macedonia, Greece. 

About the Individual Fellowship 

Individual Fellowships are awarded to promising and experienced researchers and are personal grants. There are two Fellowship types: the European Fellowships (for researchers coming to or moving within Europe) and Global Fellowship (for European researchers who are going to an institute outside of Europe). The Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions form part of the European Commission’s Horizon 2020 programme.