For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Bekijk de site in het Nederlands

The Society for the Advancement of Science, Medicine and Surgery of the University of Amsterdam (UvA) has awarded the 2015 Snellius Medal to the Dutch ATLAS Group. The ATLAS researchers will receive the medal, which is awarded once every decade, for their contribution to the research that led to the discovery of the Higgs Boson.

Nikhef/Kees Huyser
Silicon Tracker (photo: Nikhef/Kees Huyser)

The Higgs Boson was the missing link in the Standard Model of Particle Physics. Its discovery in 2012 brought an end to an extensive search that lasted almost a quarter of a century and in which hundreds of physicists from around the world took part.

The Society would this year like to award the Snellius Medal in recognition of the Dutch contribution to the discovery of the Higgs Boson. ‘Selecting just one researcher would do an injustice to the collective effort behind the discovery of the particle’,  says Prof. Ron van Noorden, chair of the Society. ‘We have therefore decided to award the medal to the entire group of Dutch physicists within the ATLAS project.’  Professor Stan Bentvelsen will receive the medal on behalf of whole group on Saturday, 21 November during the Lustrum Symposium in honour of the Society’s 225 anniversary.

About the Society

The Society endeavours to promote science within the field of medicine, mathematics and physics in the broadest possible sense. One of the ways it does this is by presenting awards in recognition of achievements within the sciences. The Snellius Medal is awarded for cutting-edge research in the field of physics, mathematics or computing science. The medal was established in 1951 and is awarded once every ten years.