For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Quality of education

Lecturer of the Year 2017

Good teachers are the key to good education. Each year, students at all UvA faculties benefit from the talents of inspiring, helpful and enthusiastic lecturers. That is why the Student Council and the ASVA Student Union annually present the Lecturer of the Year award. The aim of this award is to highlight the importance of good teaching and excellent education at the UvA.

Lecturer of the Year 2016 - 2017

Antoinette Muntjewerff was elected the UvA Lecturer of the Year 2016-2017 on Friday, 19 May. Muntjewerff is a lecturer in Jurisprudence at the Faculty of Law. Watch the video report by Folia of the moment that the winner was revealed (in Dutch).

Muntjewerff was chosen by the jury because she helps first year students immediately feel like they are an integral part of the UvA.

Jury report (in Dutch)

Faculty winners

Four of the six faculty winners read the students out loud and find out what the students really think them. This video was part of the 2017 opening of the academic year ceremony.


The UvA-wide Lecturer of the Year winner was chosen from short-list of faculty winners, which the jury announced at the end of March. Before the final winner was chosen, Folia interviewed each faculty winner. You can read the interviews on the Folia website:

Interview with Antionette Muntjewerff (in Dutch)

Interview with Paul van Trotsenburg (in Dutch)

Interview with Torsten Jochem (in Dutch)

Interview with Mark Deuze (in Dutch)

Interview with Hylke de Vries (in Dutch)

Interview with Marco Swaen (in Dutch)

New-style award

In past years it seems the original aim of the award, which was to draw attention to good teaching and excellent education, has become rather sidelined. That is why, starting from this year, the Lecturer of the Year award will be organised differently.

Students have two weeks to nominate their favourite lecturer for the title of Lecturer of the Year. The students are asked to add a personal motivation for their nomination. These nomination messages are collected and sent to the lecturers in question. A weighting mechanism has been developed that takes into account a number of factors such as the size of the study programme, and the number of students, lecturers and nominees. This is applied to the votes, resulting in a winner for each of the faculties.

Voting procedure

Once the voting period is over, the Central Student Council and ASVA student union will announce the winning lecturers at their respective faculties, in close cooperation with the faculty student councils and student associations, reflecting each of the faculties’ ideas about good teaching and education. The faculty winners will be invited to a dinner with the Executive Board and representatives of the Student Council and ASVA, which will also be an opportunity to talk about teaching and education at the UvA.

The faculty winners will then be judged by a jury consisting of students from all faculties. The winning Lecturer of the Year will be announced during the official opening of the academic year. During that coming academic year, the elected Lecturer of the Year will serve as an ambassador for good teaching and education at the University of Amsterdam.

2015 UvA Lecturer of the Year 

The title of 2015 UvA Lecturer of the Year award went to Bas de Bruin, professor of Bio-inspired sustainable catalysis at the Faculty of Science. Students praised De Bruin for his didactic qualities: 'He is able to explain complex matters in a crystal clear way without shying away from laboratory experiments'.

Past winners

Previous winners of the UvA Lecturer of the Year include Joris MarĂ©e (Mathematics and Statistics, 2014), Mieke Mulder (Clinical Pharmacology, 2013), Jan Maarseveen (Chemistry, 2012), Gerben Moerman (Sociology, 2011), Sander Bais (Natural and Social Sciences, 2010), Peter Starreveld (Psychology, 2009), Mathieu de Bakker (Latin, 2008), Maria Bonaria Urban (Italian Language and Culture, 2007).

The 'Lecturer of the Year' elections have been held in this current format since 2007. Prior to this, winners were chosen by a jury comprised of three lecturers and two students.