For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Faculty of Humanities

Education Award 2019 Faculty of Humanities

The College of Humanities and the Graduate School of Humanities will be hosting the Education Award 2019. The purpose of the Education Award is to place a spotlight on education within the Faculty of Humanities, draw attention to special achievements in education and reward these achievements.

Important dates Education Award 2019

29 April deadline for proposing courses for nomination
In the week of 20 May publication of six nominated courses and voting for the Audience Award opens
25 June, 16:00 – 18:30, location to be announced presentations and Education Award 2019 ceremony followed by a pub quiz
Download the regulations (in Dutch, PDF)

How to nominate, members of the jury and audience award

In contrast to previous years, all employees and students of the Faculty can propose (a) course(s) for nomination for the Education Award 2019. This is therefore no longer exclusively reserved for the Programme Committees, although the Programme Committees may also still propose courses for nomination. Other adjusted rules compared to previous years:

  1. There are fewer jury members. The jury for the Education Award 2019 consists of:
    Carlos Reijnen, director Graduate School of Humanities (chair)
    Frans Blom, winner Education Award 2018 bachelor’s course
    Mirjam Prenger, winner Education Award 2018 master's course
    Nuria Zantman, Bachelor's student
    Iris Kok, Master's student
  2. Six nominees will be chosen from all submissions (three Bachelor’s courses and three Master’s courses). These six nominees make a short film in which they promote their course. These films are published on the website of the Education Award. The jury chooses the winners of the Education Award from the six nominees.
  3. This year there is also an audience award. Everyone can vote for the six nominees via the website. The film/course with the most votes wins the audience award.

Why these changes?

Education belongs to all students en employees. We therefore also want to involve students and employees who are not active in the Programme Committees.

How does the jury determine the winners of the Education Award?

The jury (composed of lecturers and students of the Faculty of Humanities) nominates three Bachelor’s courses and three Master’s courses from all nominations. During the award ceremony on 25 June, the teachers of the six nominated courses will present their subject to the public and the jury. During each presentation at least one student will share his/her experience of the nominated course. Subsequently, after a short deliberation, the jury will announce the two winning courses. The jury explains its choice in a report. The winners will receive a cheque worth €1000 from the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Prof. Fred Weerman.

Onderwijsprijs Geesteswetenschappen