For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Research at the UvA

Research awards and grants

UvA researchers regularly receive financial support for their research national and international awards and grants.

Organisations in the Netherlands and abroad promote scientific research by allocating awards and grants to scientists and academics to enable them to continue their research. Below is a list of some of the major funding institutions supporting UvA researchers through research grants and awards.

  • European Research Council (ERC) grants

    The European Research Council (ERC) stimulates high-quality research in Europe by making funds available and supporting groundbreaking research. The ERC mainly honours applications for research that bridges the boundaries of various disciplines, explores ideas in newly emerging research areas, or seeks solutions using an unconventional and innovative approach.

    The ERC distributes grants and scholarships on the basis of an open contest for projects undertaken by new as well as experienced researchers, regardless of their nationality or age.

    Only one single criterion applies: research excellence. A number of UvA researchers have in recent years been awarded ERC grants worth up to €2.5 million.

    2019 Advanced Grants

    • Prof. Jan de Boer (Faculty of Science)
    • Prof. Daniel Bonn (Faculty of Science)

    ERC grants awarded to UvA researchers in previous years.

  • NWO Spinoza Prize

    The NWO Spinoza Prize is the most prestigious academic award in the Netherlands. The Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) awards the prize to Dutch researchers who are among the world‘s most eminent scholars and scientists.

    The Spinoza prize, €2.5 million, is awarded to scholars and scientists for outstanding, groundbreaking and inspiring research which they can spend on a research topic of their choice.


    • Annemarie Mol, professor of Anthropology of the Body (2012)
    • Patti Valkenburg, professor of Youth and Media (2011)
    • Erik Verlinde, professor of Theoretical Physics (2011)
    • Joep Leersen, professor of European Studies (2008)
    • Lex Schrijver,professor of Mathematics and Optimalisation (2005)
    • Michiel van der Klis, professor of Astronomy (2004)
    • Robbert Dijkgraaf, professor of Mathematical Physics (2003)
    • Ad Lagendijk, professor of Experimental Physics (2002)
    • Ronald Plasterk, professor of Molecular Biology (1999)
    • Johan van Benthem, professor of Pure and Applied Logic (1996)