For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Research at the UvA

Meet our honorary doctors

The UvA is proud to call some of society’s leading minds UvA honorary doctors. Watch the following videos to find out more.

James Hathaway

James Hathaway (1956) is professor of Law at the University of Michigan Law School (US) and visiting professor at the UvA. In 2017 the university awarded him an honorary doctorate for his original and influential contribution to the development of international refugee law and its practical application.

Loading video..

Michéle Lamont

Michéle Lamont (1957) is professor of Sociology and African and African American Studies and Robert I. Goldman Professor of European Studies at Harvard University (US). Lamont received an honorary doctorate for her important theoretical and empirical contribution to the social sciences, particularly cultural sociology, and her important role in linking American and European social sciences.

Loading video..

Peter van Rooijen

Peter van Rooijen (1956) is executive director of International Civil Society Support (ICSS). Van Rooijen was awarded an honorary doctorate for his achievements in the national and international fight against Aids and for his commitment to better universal healthcare.

Loading video..