For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
Research at the UvA

Honorary Professors

The University of Amsterdam has been appointing scholars to the special position of Honorary Professor since 2001. In principle, the title of Honorary Professor of the UvA is for life, and is reserved for scholars who work at an academic teaching or research institute as a professor or emeritus professor, and who have highly distinguished themselves academically.

Honorary Professors are expected to give regular guest lectures or contribute to research, so as to advance the quality of teaching and research at the UvA. The main difference between this title and that of honorary doctor is that no contribution is expected from an honorary doctor and the honorary doctorate is not of direct importance for university teaching and research. At official and ceremonial events, Honorary Professors are considered UvA professors and may also make use of all the University's facilities.

To date, the UvA has appointed seven Honorary Professors.

Professor Barry R. Bloom (1937)

Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases and dean of the Harvard School of Public Health - appointed Honorary Professor in 2001

Barry Bloom has been conducting research on infectious diseases since the beginning of his academic career. In the early 1960s, he co-discovered lymphokines, which play an important role in the regulation of cellular immune and rejection responses, and in the development of cancer. Bloom received the first Bristol-Myers Squibb Award in 1991 for important research in the field of infectious diseases. He was also distinguished for his work in 1998 with the Novartis Award and in 1999 with the Robert Koch Gold Medal. He was responsible for the 1996 Anatomische Les (Anatomy Lecture) on infectious diseases at the Academic Medical Center (AMC-UvA).

Professor Charles A. Holt (1948)

Professor of Political Economy at the University of Virginia - appointed Honorary Professor in 2003

Charles A. Holt is an internationally prominent experimental economist. Diversity and originality characterise his work, which is largely of an interdisciplinary nature. Holt aims to integrate experimental techniques into education, as evidenced by the columns he wrote for the Journal of Economic Perspectives, in which he discussed instructions for experiments in class.

Professor Jonathan Irvine Israel (1946)

Professor of Modern European History at the Institute for Advanced Studies at Princeton - appointed Honorary Professor in 2003

Jonathan Irvine Israel has been of extraordinary importance for the historiography of the Netherlands during the Dutch Golden Age of the seventeenth century. His pioneering oeuvre is distinguished by its breadth, erudition and analytical sharpness. His research focuses on the significance of the Dutch Republic of the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries to the European economy, politics, art, culture and scholarship. Over the past fifteen years, this area of study has been fundamentally altered by his groundbreaking work.

Professor Sir Michael L. Rutter (1933)

Professor Emeritus of Paediatric Psychiatry and Developmental Psychopathology at the University of London - appointed Honorary Professor in 2001

Sir Michael Rutter is undoubtedly one of the most influential child psychiatrists in the world. He established this reputation with empirical research in the field of child psychiatry, which formed the basis for his accessibly written scholarly texts. Among his most important research projects was a large-scale study conducted in twelve secondary schools in London in 1970. This investigation confirmed that children's academic achievement is indeed influenced by the type of school they attend.

Professor Albert N. Shiryaev (1934)

Professor of Stochastics (probability theory) at the University of Moscow - appointed Honorary Professor in 2002

Albert Shirayev is one of the most influential and active probability theorists in the world. He has written over 180 publications and several classic reference works. Shirayev is a member of the renowned Steklov Mathematical Institute, an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Statistical Society (since 1986), an affiliate member of the Russian Academy of Sciences (since 1997) and an Honorary Doctor at the Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg (since 2001).

Professor Shirayev's appointment as Honorary Professor was of special importance to the division of Stochastics, one of the principal research programmes of the Korteweg-De Vries Institute for Mathematics at the UvA.

Website Korteweg-de Vries Institute for Mathematics

Professor Pamela Samuelson

Professor of Jurisprudence at the University of California at Berkeley - appointed Honorary Professor in 2002

Pamela Samuelson is internationally known as one of the leading scholars in the field of Information Law. She has published extensively on copyright and the Internet, and is a prominent advocate for the protection of fundamental rights (freedom of expression, privacy), which are threatened by the advance of information technology. Her research is of an interdisciplinary nature, and as a result she has published both in the areas of Law and of Legal Economics. Samuelson's research fits in well with the research programme of the UvA's Institute for Information Law, with which she maintains strong ties. She participates regularly in symposia, conferences and other research activities organised by the institute.

Institute for Information Law

Professor Martinus J.G. Veltman (1931)

Dutch physicist and professor emeritus of the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) - appointed Honorary Professor in 2001

Professor Martinus Veltman received the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1999, together with his former PhD student Gerard ‘t Hooft. The Prize was awarded for elucidation of the quantum structure of electroweak interactions, interactions between the smallest building-blocks of matter, which form the basis of radioactivity and other important phenomena.

Prior to this appointment, Veltman was connected with the University of Amsterdam through NIKHEF, in which the UvA's Institute for High Energy Physics participates.