For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Academic staff

Political Science: Political Economy (MSc)

The track Political Economy of the Master in Political Science is organised by the Graduate School of Social Sciences of the Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences at the University of Amsterdam.

The academic staff of this programme is actively involved in research most of them at UvA's Amsterdam Institute of Social Science Research (AISSR).

Geoffrey Underhill

Prof. Geoffrey Underhill

Prof. Geoffrey Underhill is the track coordinator of Political Economy. 

Underhill teaches for the College of Social Sciences and Graduate School of Social Sciences. He also carries out his research activities as a member of the Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research, an interdisciplionary institute based at the UvA and accredited by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences. His main interests in political science were comparative/international political economy and international relations.

Read what Geoffrey Underhill tells about Political Economy.

Dr. Luc Fransen

Luc Fransen is Assistant Professor of International Relations and member of the Political Economy and Transnational Governance (PETGOV) Research Group as well as the Transnational Configurations, Conflict and Governance Research Group. He received his PhD in Social Sciences at the University of Amsterdam in 2010 and has held research and teaching positions at the European University Institute, Yale University, Leiden University and the Amsterdam Institute for International Development.

Read what Luc tells about the Political Economy programme. 

Academic staff members Political Science

For more information about the academic staff members of the Department Political Science, please be referred to staff list. Each staff member maintains a UvA profile with information about research interests and publications.