Faculty of Science

Students and researchers at the Faculty of Science are fascinated by every aspect of how the world works, be it elementary particles, the birth of the universe or the functioning of the brain. With education and research in mathematics, physics, chemistry, astronomy, biology, logic and computer science, we are fully immersed in the entire spectrum of the sciences. To fully benefit from local expertise and facilities, we collaborate intensively with the science faculties at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam.

Science Park UvA

Science Park 904. Photo: Hanne Nijhuis

The research and educational activities are organised in one comprehensive faculty. This is motivated by developments in both science and society, with new challenges often found in the overlap of several disciplines. It has led to a policy in which the faculty is setting up new research institutes across traditional disciplinary boundaries.

The Faculty of Science consists of a College of Science, three Graduate Schools, an Institute for Interdisciplinary Studies, eight research institutes and a  Faculty service department.



Published by  Faculty of Science

6 October 2015