For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Eight talented academics will receive Marie Sklodowska-Curie Individual Fellowships from the European Commission to conduct research at the UvA, it has been announced.

The fellowships are awarded from the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions, which are part of the European Union's research and innovation programme Horizon Europe. The fellowships are meant to stimulate the cross-border mobility of experienced researchers both inside and outside the European Union. The fellowships are personal grants. All eight of the researchers who will carry out their projects at the UvA have been awarded European Fellowships, which last for two years and for most laureates amount to a budget of around €185,000. Overall, the European Commission will award 1,156 fellowships in this round (8,356 applications were submitted), amounting to €242 million in total.

The recipients

  • Raphael Abiry (Amsterdam School of Economics): The Role of Green Quantitative Easing for Optimal Climate Change Policies 
    Supervisor: Roel Beetsma 
  • Kristina Gedgaudaitė (Amsterdam School for Cultural Analysis / Marilena Laskaridis special chair for Modern Greek Studies): Recollected: History, Memory and Imagination in Contemporary Greek Comics and Graphic Novels
    Supervisor: Maria Boletsi 
  • Marianna Girlando (Institute for Logic, Language and Computation): Cyclic Derivations for Recursive Operators 
    Supervisor: Yde Venema 
  • Salvatore Giusto (European Studies/Amsterdam School for Cultural Analysis): Scar-Facebook: Organized Crime and Populist Digital Media Politics in Contemporary Italy and Europe
    Supervisor: Chiara de Cesari 
  • Matthias de Groof (Amsterdam School for Cultural Analysis): Ecologies of indigenous filmmaking in the Democratic Republic of Congo
    Supervisor: Patricia Pisters 
  • Beste Kamali (Institute for Logic, Language and Computation): Explorations in Polar Question Meaning and its Variations 
    Supervisor: Floris Roelofsen 
  • Ana-Maria Raclariu (Institute of Physics): Towards a holographic approach for gravity in asymptotically flat spacetimes
    Supervisor: Alejandra Castro Anich 
  • Jesús San Jose Orduna (Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences): Selective Alkylation of Complex Molecules in Flow 
    Supervisor: Timothy Noël
Read more about the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions