For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
The best and most original Master’s theses written at the UvA are rewarded each year with the UvA Thesis Prize. The jury judges the submissions by scientific quality and originality.

UvA thesis prize 2024

Master's students who graduated between February 1, 2023, and April 1, 2024, and received a grade of 9 or higher for their thesis were eligible to participate in the UvA Thesis Prize 2024. The winner will receive 3,000 euros, and the other (faculty) winners will each receive 1,000 euros. One faculty winner was chosen per faculty. From these seven winners, the jury (consisting of the deans of the seven UvA faculties) will select the overall winner of the UvA Thesis Prize 2024.


Winners UvA Thesis Prize 2024

Below you can find the faculty winners of 2024, who have written the best theses of academic year 2023-2024. From these winners, the jury will choose the winner of the UvA Thesis Prize 2024. 

Faculty of Dentistry

Max Schoenmakers - The association of periodontitis with cardiovascular disease parameters - a synthesis of systematic reviews 

Economics and Business 

Maaike van Vulpen - Understanding and Mitigating Algorithm Aversion in Medical Decision Making: A Study on the Role of Algorithm Information

Faculty of Humanities

Marta Pagliuca Pelacani - The Magical Atlas of Italian Sharecropping: exploring the role of storytelling, textiles, and socially engaged art in the intergenerational transmission of memory and heritage within Italy’s illiterate sharecropping communities 

Faculty of Social and Behavioural Sciences

Roos Metselaar - ‘Not Too Different': Doing Resemblance, Enacting Boundaries in Sperm Donor Matching Practices 

Photo: Liva Reidzane

Faculteit der Geneeskunde

Amber den Hollander - Predicting Hospital Admission among Emergency Department Patients using Machine Learning

Faculteit der Natuurkunde, Wiskunde en Informatica

Heleen Mulder - Scrutinizing the CKM anomaly within SMEFT and using sterile neutrinos 

Amsterdam Law School

Ömer Arikan - Mandatory Scope 3 disclosure in the light of disclosure avoidance strategies: Exploring desirable regulatory features and comparing the proposed SEC Climate Disclosure Rules and the enacted CSRD