For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
Every year, the Faculty of Humanities presents an Education Award to a course that is innovative or uses educational methods that inspire others. For the first time since 2019, the award ceremony will be held on site: at VOX-POP on Thursday 30 June.

Important dates Education Award 2022

2 June Course nomination deadline
10 June Announcement of the five nominated courses
16 June Voting starts for Audience Award
30 June, 16:00 Award ceremony

Five courses are on the shortlist of this year's award:

  • Anglo-Saxon England: Language and Society (Bachelor's English Language and Culture) - Robert Cloutier
  • The Climate Emergency. The History of a Crisis (Bachelor's History) - Peter van Dam
  • European Politics Simulation Exercise (Bachelor's European Studies) - Andrew Telford
  • Hoe genocide begint. Vervolging, massamoord, genocide in vergelijkend perspectief (Bachelor's History) –  Uğur Ümit Üngör
  • Taalvaardigheid Duits 1-4 (Bachelor's German Studies) -  Roswitha Dickens en Britta Bendieck

All students and staff members of the Faculty of Humanities were able to nominate a course for the Education Award 2022. In total, more than 30 courses were nominated.

Members of the jury and Audience Award

The jury of 2022 consists of:

  • Carlos Reijnen - director College of Humanities (chair)
  • Imogen Cohen - winner of the Education Award 2021
  • Wilma Maljaars - coordinator diagnostic test academic writing
  • Froukje Vroom - student member of the Faculty Board

This year there will also be an Audience Award. Everyone can vote for one of the nominated courses. The course with the most votes wins the Audience Award. The lecturers will make videos introducing their nominated course to the public.

Award ceremony

During the award ceremony on Thursday, 30 June 2022 (from 15:30) in VOX-POP the jury will announce the winning course. The winner will receive a cheque for €1000 from the Dean, Marieke de Goede. The winner of the Audience Award will also be announced during the ceremony.

BG 3

Binnengasthuisstraat 9
1012 ZA Amsterdam