For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.



  • The academic staff is grouped in eight departments. Support and management staff is either working within the Faculty office or within one of the departments.
  • Our research is organised within the faculty research institute, the Amsterdam Institute for Humanities Research (AIHR), led by the Director of Faculty Research. The AIHR houses five Research Schools:  ACLC, ARTESASCA, ASH and AHM. In addition, the faculty participates in the interfaculty Institute for Logic, Language and Computation (ILLC).
  • The Graduate School of Humanities (GSH) is responsible for the Master's programmes.
  • The College of Humanities (CoH) is responsible for undergraduate education.