For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

The UvA Executive Board has decided to extend the appointment of Professor Han van Dissel as dean of the Faculty of Economics and Business by six months. Van Dissel's second term as dean was initially due to come to an end in the summer of 2021; the term has now been extended to February 2022.

Han van Dissel (photo: Ineke Oostveen)

The reason for the extension is mainly the importance of continuity within the faculty, with particular regard to the corona crisis. The decision was taken after consultation with the Faculty Works Council and the Faculty Student Council.

‘As a university, we are in a difficult phase, in which we are constantly faced with new challenges due to the corona crisis. I am therefore very pleased that Han is willing to stay on a little longer as dean, so that the faculty can continue to benefit from his experience, knowledge and skills. At the beginning of 2022, the Faculty of Economics and Business will celebrate its lustrum and this also means he will still be able take an active role in that,’ says president of the Executive Board Geert ten Dam. ‘Along with his team, he has put the education and research of the Faculty of Economics and Business on the international map and managed to keep it there. We also greatly appreciate his involvement in subjects within the university that transcend his own faculty.’

About Van Dissel

Van Dissel joined the UvA in 2011 as dean of the Faculty of Economics and Business, and professor of Business Administration, in particular the teaching of organisational and information processes. His reappointment followed in 2016. Both terms were for five years. Before coming to the UvA, Van Dissel was general director of the Center Européen d'Education Permanente (Cedep) in Fontainebleau near Paris. From 2002 to 2007, he was dean of the Rotterdam School of Management at Erasmus University Rotterdam.