For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Three Bachelor’s- and three Master’s courses are in the running for the Faculty of Humanity’s Education Award 2019. The jury has created this shortlist from a total of 35 nominations. The award for the best Bachelor’s- and Master’s course will be handed out on Tuesday, 25 June during a festive ceremony in the Compagnietheater. You will also be able to vote for the audience award soon.

Bushuis Onderwijsprijs

This year, in contrast with previous years, students and staff members were able to personally nominate courses for the Education Award. The jury received 35 nominations: 28 for a Bachelor’s course and 7 for a Master’s course.

Nominated Bachelor's courses

  • Games (elective Media Studies), Toni Pape
  • Living Information (Media and Information), Mark Deuze
  • Legacies of the Enlightenment (European Studies), Matthijs Lok

Nominated Master's courses

  • Shakespeare, Sexuality, and Adaptation (Literary Studies), Kristine Johanson
  • Zorgen voor het Zelf (History), Justyna Wubs-Mrozewicz
  • Van wie is de stad? Crisis en conflict in moderne Westerse steden (History), Tim Verlaan

Audience award

This year, an audience award will also be handed out. Everyone can vote for one out of the six nominated courses via the website. The course with the most votes will win the audience award. You will be able to vote from Monday, 3 June onward.

Ceremony 25 June

The Education Award will be handed out on Tuesday, 25 June at 16:00 in the Compagnietheater, Kloveniersburgwal 50. During the ceremony, the lecturers and/or students will present the nominated courses and will attempt to convince the jury that their course should win the Education Award 2019. The ceremony will be followed by a pub quiz and drinks.

Concerning the Humanities Education Award

The Faculty of Humanities Education Award is handed out annually to a Bachelor’s- and Master’s course in which inspiring teaching methods are used and/or which can serve as an example for future educational projects.