For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Three Bachelor’s- and three Master’s courses are in the running for the Faculty of Humanity’s Education Award 2019. The jury has created this shortlist from a total of 35 nominations. The award for the best Bachelor’s- and Master’s course will be handed out on Tuesday, 25 June during a festive ceremony in the Compagnietheater. You can now also vote for the audience award.

This year, in contrast with previous years, students and staff members were able to personally nominate courses for the Education Award. The jury received 35 nominations: 28 for a Bachelor’s course and 7 for a Master’s course. From these, the jury then chose three Bachelor's and three Master's courses.

The nominated Bachelor’s courses are:

  • Games (elective Media Studies), Toni Pape
  • Living Information (Media and Information), Mark Deuze
  • Legacies of the Enlightenment (European Studies), Matthijs Lok

The nominated Master’s courses are:

  • Shakespeare, Sexuality, and Adaptation (English Language and Culture), Kristine Johanson
  • Zorgen voor het Zelf (History), Justyna Wubs-Mrozewicz
  • Van wie is de stad? Crisis en conflict in moderne Westerse steden (History), Tim Verlaan

Audience award

This year, an audience award will also be handed out. Everyone can vote for one out of the six nominated courses via the website. The course with the most votes will win the audience award. 

Ceremony 25 June

The Education Award will be handed out on Tuesday, 25 June at 16:00 in the Compagnietheater, Kloveniersburgwal 50. During the ceremony, the lecturers and/or students will present the nominated courses and will attempt to convince the jury that their course should win the Education Award 2019. The ceremony will be followed by a pub quiz and drinks.

Nomination process, jury composition and audience award

In contrast with previous years, nominations are no longer the exclusive prerogative of the programme committees. Each student and employee can nominate one (or more) course(s) for the Education Award 2019. Aside from this, there are a few other changes:

  1. There are fewer jury members. The jury for the Education Award 2019 consists of:
    Carlos Reijnen, director Graduate School of Humanities (chair)
    Frans Blom, winner Education Award 2018 bachelor’s course
    Mirjam Prenger, winner Education Award 2018 master's course
    Nuria Zantman, Bachelor's student
    Iris Kok, Master's student
  2. Six nominees will be chosen from all submissions (three Bachelor’s courses and three Master’s courses). These six nominees will create a short film in which they promote their course. These films will be published on the website of the Education Award. The jury will choose the Education Award's winners from these six nominees.
  3. This year, an audience award will also be handed out. Everyone can vote for one out of the six nominated courses via the website. The course with the most votes will win the audience award.

These changes were introduced because education belongs to all students and employees. Therefore, we also want to involve students and employees who are not members of the Programme Committees.

How does the jury determine the winners of the Education Award? 

From all submissions, the jury (composed of lecturers and students from Humanities) will select three Bacherlor's- and three Master's courses. During the ceremony on 25 June, the lecturers of the six nominated courses will present their courses to the public and jury. During each presentation, at least one student will share his/her experiences with the nominated course. Subsequently, after a short deliberation, the jury will announce the two winning courses. The jury will explain its choice in a report. The winners will receive a €1000 cheque from the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Prof. Fred Weerman.