For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
The Faculty of Science of the University of Amsterdam aims to stimulate increased diversity in its research institutes. For this reason we instituted a special recruitment programme for top level female talent, the MacGillavry Fellowship. After two successful rounds in 2010 and 2013, this is the third time we opened up these special tenure track positions. In this round, we appointed seven MacGillavry Fellows.

MacGillavry Fellowship round 2019

Dr B. (Bahareh) Afshari
Appointed at the Institute for Logic, Language and Computation (ILL), started: 01-01-2019

Dr F. (Flavia) de Almeida Dias
Appointed at the Institute of Physics (IoP), starts:15-03-2020

Dr I. (Iris) Groen
Appointed at the Informatics Institute (IvI), starts:01-09-2020

Dr D. (Diletta) Martinelli
Appointed at the Korteweg-de Vries Institute for Mathematics (KdVI), started: 01-10-2019

Dr A. (Antonija) Oklopcic
Appointed at the Anton Pannekoek Institute for Astronomy (API), starts: 01-01-2020

Dr ir. A. (Annemieke) Petrignani
Appointed at the Van 't Hoff Institute for Molecular Sciences (HIMS), started: 01-06-2019

Dr V. (Verena) Schoepf
Appointed at the Institute for Biodiversity and Ecosystem Dynamics (IBED), starts: 01-11-2019


The Faculty of Science of the University of Amsterdam attaches great importance to the contribution of female scientists in research and education. For this reason we founded a recruitment programme for talented women, named after the ground breaking crystallographer professor Carolina MacGillavry (1904-1993), an alumna of the University of Amsterdam.