For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
The Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW) annually awards the national Young Talent encouragement prizes to promote scientific education in engineering and science subjects. On Monday 28 November, the KHMW Young Talent encouragement prizes were presented in Haarlem.

Louise Gunning-Schepers, the president of KHMW, welcomed the group of 64 Young Talent Award winners. Prior to the first-year award ceremonies, the winners were given three key pieces of advice by Ionica Smeets, professor of science communication at Leiden University. The prizes of each € 500 are awarded for the best grades achieved in the first year at a Dutch institution for academic education.

This year, three students in the College of Science received the Young Talent incentive prizes:

Finn at the far right
Finn Rijk

Finn received a Stichting Physica incentive prizes for Physics and technical physics.

Janne Bolwerk at the far left
Janne Bolwerk

Janne received a Shell incentive prizes for Chemistry

Hartog in the absolute centre
Hartog Hartog

Hartog received an ORTEC incentive prizes for Mathematics and technical mathematics.