For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.
'We schrijven een boek' by Judith Noorman won this year's Education Award for the most innovative course of the Faculty of Humanities. The course, in which students wrote a book about women in art in the Golden Age in just a few weeks time, also won the Audience Award. The book was published at the end of 2020.

Three bachelor's courses and one master's course were nominated:

  • Neurolinguistics - Marijn van 't Veer and Ileana Grama (BA)
  • Hoe genocide begint. Vervolging, massamoord, genocide in vergelijkend perspectief - Johannes Houwink ten Cate (BA)
  • We schrijven een boek. Kunstvrouwen van de Gouden Eeuw. - Judith Noorman (BA)
  • Anthropology of Islam, gender and law - Maaike Voorhoeve (MA)

Because everything in this 'new world' goes differently than normal, a number of adjustments have been made to the regulations of the Education Award.

  • The presentation of the Education Award is on 7 July via Zoom;
  • One award will be awarded for the best subject; no distinction is made between a Bachelor's or Master's subject;
  • This year, the nominees do not have to make a video themselves but will be interviewed via Zoom by the student members of the jury, namely Rijk van Beek and Tjibbe Valkenburg. The recordings of the interviews can be viewed via the link below;
  • The videos will be used for two purposes: on the one hand, by the jury, who will decide which subject should win the Education Award, and on the other hand as promotional videos for the Audience Award.

Members of the jury and audience award

The jury for the Education Award 20 consists of:
Thomas Vaessens, director College of Humanities (chair)
Toni Pape, winner Education Award 2019 bachelor’s course
Justyna Wubs - Mrozewicz, winner Education Award 2019 master's course
Rijk van Beek, Bachelor's student
Tjibbe Valkenburg, Master's student

Like last year, there is also an Audience Award. Everyone can vote for the six nominees via the website. The video/course with the most votes will win the audience award.

How does the jury determine the winners of the Education Award?

The jury nominates three Bachelor’s courses and three Master’s courses from all nominations. This year, three bachelor's courses and one master's course have been nominated. During the award ceremony on July 7, 2020, the jury will announce the winning course after having previously considered the films. The jury explains its choice in a report. The winners will receive a cheque worth €1000 from the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities, Prof. Fred Weerman.

Onderwijsprijs Geesteswetenschappen