For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.


Platform for the Ethics and Politics of Technology

UvA Department of Philosophy

Members of the Department of Philosophy who are specialized in ethics in/of digital societies (Beate Roessler, Marjolein Lanzing, Eva Groen-Reijman), international security and surveillance technologies (Huub Dijstelbloem), artificial intelligence and the logic of information exchange (Sonja Smets), democracy and the digital age (Josef Fruechtl):

Beate Roessler
Marjolein Lanzing
Eva Groen-Reijman
Huub Dijstelbloem
Sonja Smets
Josef Fruechtl

All members of the Platform bring in specific expertise and are highly experienced in interdisciplinary research; the core members mirror the interdisciplinarity of the Platform as well as its ambitions and possibilities.

UvA Artificial Intelligence Chairs

Tobias Blanke
Natali Helberger
Maarten de Rijke

Research Priority Areas

Marieke de Goede (Global Digital Cultures)
Jeroen de Kloet (Global Digital Cultures)
Thomas Poell (Global Digital Cultures)
Claes de Vreese (Political Communication and Journalism)
Natali Helberger (Law)

Research Schools

Members of the Research Schools of the Faculty of Humanities, in particular:

  • Amsterdam Center for Language and Communication (ACLC)
  • Amsterdam School for Cultural Analysis (ASCA)
  • Amsterdam School for Heritage, Memory and Material Culture (AHM)
  • Institute for Logic, Language, and Computation (ILLC)


Website CREATE-UvA

Julia Noordegraaf

Vossius Center

Website Vossius Center

Rens Bod


Website IAS

Peter Sloot