For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

The two-year Master’s programme Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences has a study load of 120 ECTS: 24 ECTS compulsory courses; 12 ECTS philosophical electives; 6 ECTS colloquium; 18 ECTS philosophical Master’s thesis; 60 ECTS non-philosophical courses in the Humanities or in the Social Sciences Master's you are also enrolled in.

  • Restricted-choice elective: Specialisation
    Period 1
    Period 2
    Period 4
    Period 5

    Specialisation Philosophy of the Humanities: - History and Philosophy of the Humanities - History, Identity, Agency Specialisation Philosophy of the Social Sciences - Philosophy of the Social Sciences - Philosophy, Science and Public Affairs

  • Restricted-choice electives
    Period 1
    Period 2
    Period 4
    Period 5
  • Colloquium Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences
    Period 3
  • Master's Thesis Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences
    Period 4
    Period 5
    Period 6
Compulsory course
UvA Course Catalogue: Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences
Copyright: Kirsten van Santen
The Philosophy department at the University of Amsterdam is the largest in the Netherlands, and it has a long tradition in training Philosophy students. We are also very proud of our Spinoza Chair. Prof. Huub Dijstelbloem

Interdisciplinary programme

  • Philosophy of the Humanities and the Social Sciences is an interdisciplinary programme: it consists of a philosophical part worth 60 ECTS and a part worth 60 ECTS in which you study one of the social sciences or a humanities discipline.
  • In the non-philosophical part, you can complete another Master’s degree programme if you so wish.
  • You will flesh out the precise study programme in consultation with the Master’s coordinator based on your interests and prior education.
  • There are two specialisations: Philosophy of the Social Sciences and Philosophy of the Humanities. Both of the specialisations have two compulsory courses worth 12 ECTS.
  • In addition, you will take electives worth 12 ECTS in the field of philosophy and you will take part in a colloquium (6 ECTS), in which a bridge is built between your own specific field of study and philosophy.
  • Your philosophical track is concluded with a thesis worth 18 ECTS.

Master's thesis

The Master’s thesis (18 ECTS) consists of a research report of 17,000 to 23,000 words. You will determine the research subject in consultation with your thesis supervisor.

Part-time mode

This programme is also offered in part-time study mode, in which case it takes 2 years. You can obtain a maximum of 30 ECTS per year (12-18 ECTS per semester). As a part-time student you will follow the programme together with full-time students. You will prepare your study plan for the part-time programme in consultation with the Master’s programme coordinator (See: Contact).

Transferring to a Research Master's

Students who show promise are encouraged to transfer to a Research Master’s during their one-year or dual programme. Following the selection and admission, you are able, in most cases, to transfer courses that you passed during the one-year or dual programme. The Examinations Board decides whether the courses are eligible for this.